World Organisations and their Headquarters (Static GK Material for Competitive Exams)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

ASEAN, Association of South East Asian Nations,SAARC, World Organisations and their Headquarters, South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation, BIMSTEC, Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi- Sectoral and Economic Cooperation, G20, Group of Twenty, ECO, The Economic Cooperation Organization, Lucent G.K. material for G.K., Pearson Study Material, General Knowledge General Knowledge Notes for Competitive Exams, One Liners for Exams.

Table Of Content

World Organisations and their Headquarters


  • Full form of SAARC is South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation.
  • The Headquarters of SAARC are in Kathmandu, Nepal.
  • The member countries of SAARC are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
  • It was established on 8 December 1985.
  • The name of Secretary- General of SAARC is Amjad Hussain B.Sial from Pakistan.
  • The organisation promotes development of economic and regional Integration.


  • BRICS is the acronym for an association of five major emerging national economies:Brazil,Russia, India, China and South Africa.
  • The headquarters of BRICS are in Shangai, China.
  • BRICS was founded in June 2006. South Africa was added to BRICS in 2010.
  • Kundapur Vaman Kamath is the Chief of the New Development Bank of BRICS countries.
  • The aim of BRICS are to achieve regional development, to create peace, security, development and co-operation to bring together these five emerging countries.


  • Full form of ASEAN is Association of South East Asian Nations.
  • The Headquarters of ASEAN are in Jakarta, Indonesia.
  • There are 10 member countries of ASEAN and two observers countries.
  • Member countries are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, Papua New guinea and Timor Leste are observer countries.
  • Lim Jock Hoi of Brunei is the Secretary General of ASEAN
  • ASEAN promotes intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates economic, political, security,military,educational and sociocultural integration among its member countries.


  • Full form of BIMSTEC is Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi- Sectoral and Economic Cooperation.
  • The Headquarters of BIMSTEC are in Dhaka, Bangladesh.
  • The member countries of BIMSTEC are Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal.
  • Sri Lanka had taken the Chairmanship of BIMSTEC since September 2018.
  • The objective of BIMSTEC is to provide help to increase socio – economic growth of the member countries.


  • The G20 or Group of Twenty is an international forum for the government and central bank governors from 19 countries and the European Union.
  • G20 was founded in 1999 with the aim to discuss policy regarding the promotion of international financial stability.
  • The twenty members of G20 are Argentina,Australia, Brazil, Germany, Canada, China, European Union, France, India,Indonesia,Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States.
  • The Chairman of G20 is Mauricio Macri from Argentina.
  • The purpose of G20 is to bring together systemically important Industrialized and developing economies to discuss key issues in Global economy.


  • Full form of ECO is ‘The Economic Cooperation Organization’.
  • It is a Eurasian political and economic inter governmental organization.
  • It was founded in 1984 in Tehran by the leaders of Iran, Pakistan and Turkey.
  • The Headquarters of ECO are on Tehran, Iran.
  • The Secretary General of ECO are is Dr. Hadi Soleimanpour.
  • The 10 member states of ECO are Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan,Turkey, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.
  • Activities of ECO are conducted through directorates under the supervision of Secretary-General and his Deputies which considered and evolve projects and programs of mutual benefit.

Also Read :

You may also like...