History Notes Part XX – Important Moderate Leaders (Static GK Material for Competitive Exams)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Dada Bhai Naoroji, Womesh Chandra Banerjee, Badruddin Tyabji, Gopal Krishna Gokhale, Madan Mohan Malviya, Firoz Shah Mehta, Justice Ranade, Ras Bihari Ghosh, Lucent G.K. material for History, Pearson Study Material, History Notes, History Notes for Competitive Exams,Subsidiary Alliance, One Liners for History.

Important Moderate Leaders

Dada Bhai Naoroji

  • Dada Bhai Naoroji was born on 4 September 1825, he is known as Grand Old Man Of India.
  • Dada Bhai Naoroji was an educator, intellectual, cotton trader and an early Indian political and social leader.
  • He became a professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy at Elphinstone Institution at the age of 27. He was the first Indian to become a professor of a college.
  • He set up Gyan Prasarak Mandli (Society of Promotion of Knowledge) for the education of adults.
  • Together with A.O. Hume and other leaders he set up Indian National Congress in 1885.
  • Dada Bhai Naoroji was elected as the President of Indian National Congress for three times.
  • In 1874, he became Prime Minister of Baroda and was a member of Legislative Council of Mumbai.
  • He published Poverty and un-British rule in India in 1901 in which he focused on the drain of wealth from India into England through colonial rule.
  • The Congress’s demand for Swaraj was expressed publicly by him in his presidential address in 1906.
  • Dada Bhai Naoroji believed in non-violent method of protest.
  • He died at the age of 92 on June 30, 1917.

W.C. Banerjee

  • Womesh Chandra Banerjee was the first president of Indian National Congress.
  • He graduated in law from Middle Temple London and became a barrister in High Court of Calcutta.
  • He proposed standing Committee of Congress in each province for better co-ordination of its work.
  • He was elected as the President of Indian National Congress again in 1892 in Allahabad session.

Badruddin Tyabji

  • Badruddin Tyabji was a prominent lawyer, activist and politician from British India.
  • Tyabji served as the third president of the Indian National Congress.
  • He was the first Indian to practice as the barrister of the High Court of Bombay.
  • Badruddin Tyabji was instrumental in founding The Islam Club and Islam Gymkhana for promoting social interaction among Muslims of the Bombay.
  • In 1902, he became the first Indian to hold the post of Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court.

Madan Mohan Malviya

  • Madan Mohan Malviya also addressed as Mahamana was an Indian educationist and politician.
  • He was the Member of Imperial Legislative Council from 1912 till 1926.
  • Madan Mohan Malviya was the founder of Banaras Hindu University (BHU) at Varanasi in 1916.
    Malvaiya started Sanatana Dharma from BHU, a magazine dedicated to religious, dharmic interests.
  • He left Congress in 1934. He was an initial leader of the Hindu Mahasabha.
  • Malaviya was one of the founders of Scouting in India. He also founded a highly influential English-newspaper ‘The Leader’, published from Allahabad in 1909.
  • He was the chairman of Hindustan Times from 1924 to 1946.
  • The Harijan Sevak Sangh was founded at a meeting in 1933 at which Pandit Malviya presided.
    Madan Mohan Malviya was posthumously conferred with Bharat Ratna on 24 December 2014.

Gopal Krishna Gokhale

  • Gopal Krishna Gokhale was a member of Indian National Congress.
  • He was elected to the Bombay Legislative Council in 1899. In 1903, he was elected to the Council of Indian of Governor General of India as non-officiating Member representing Bombay Province.
  • Gokhale was the founder of the servants of Indian Society which was dedicated to inspire nationalistic feelings among his fellow countrymen.
  • In 1905, he was elected as the president of the Indian National Congress.
  • Gokhale was a mentor to Mahatma Gandhi on his yearly years. In 1912, Gokhale visited South Africa at Gandhi’s Invitation. He was also the role model and mentor of Mohammed Ali Jinnah.

Feroz Shah Mehta

  • Feroz Shah Mehta was a leading lawyer of Mumbai.
  • He was known as ‘The Lion of Bombay’.
  • He became the Municipal commissioner of Bombay Municipality in 1873 and its President four times in 1884, 1885, 1905 and 1911.
  • He was elected as the President of Indian National Congress in 1890.
  • In 1834, he was appointed as a Companion of the Order of the Indian Empire and was appointed a Knight Commander in 1904.
  • In 1910, he started ‘The Bombay Chronicle’, an English weekly newspaper, which became an important nationalist voice of its time.

Mahadev Govind Ranade

  • Mahadev Govind Ranade was an Indian scholar, social reformer and author. He was among the founders of the Indian National Congress.
  • M.G. Ranade was a member of Bombay Legislative Council, member of finance committee at the centre and judge of the Bombay High Court.
  • He helped to establish the Vaktruttvottejak Sabha, Poona Sarvajanik Sabha and the Prarthana Samaj.
  • He also edited a Bombay Anglo-Marathi daily paper, the Induprakash, founded in his ideology of social and religious reform.
  • He was on of the founders of the Widow Marriage Association in 1861.

Ras Bihari Ghosh

  • Ras Bihari Ghosh was an Indian politician, lawyer, social worker and philanthropist.
  • He served as the President of the Congress for two terms succeeding Dadabhai Naoroji.
  • Ras Bihari Ghosh became a member of the Bengal Legislative Council between 1891 and 1894, and then again between 1906 and 1909.
  • He was accorded the Companion of the order of the Indian Empire in 1896 and the Companion of the order of the star of India in 1909 by the British Government.
  • He was knighted in 1915.
  • Ras Bihari Ghosh contributed Rs. 13 lakhs to the establishment of National Council of Education at Jadavpur.
  • He passed away in 1921.

Also Read :

You may also like...